Feb 18

ICC World Cup 2011 Opens

The much-awaited ICC World Cup 2011 has started with a very colorful and lively Opening ceremony at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka, Bangladesh.  The tenth Cricket world cup is hosted by 3 South East countries: Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and India.

The ICC World Cup Opening ceremony showed the rich culture of the South East countries through dance and songs mixed with great fireworks and laser light show. World performers like Bryan Adams, Sonu Nigam, Runa Laila, and Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy made the audience alive.  The highlight of the show was the grand entrance of the captains of all 14 competing teams into the arena in illuminated and decorated rickshaws in alphabetical order of the countries’ names. The ICC World Cup Opening ceremony lasted for two and a half hours.